Skip to content


Russia, the world’s largest nation, borders European and Asian countries as well as the Pacific and Arctic oceans. Its landscape ranges from tundra and forests to subtropical beaches.

Almost 20% of Russia’s population is not ethnic Russian. Of all the languages of Russia, Russian is the only official language at the national level. There are 35 different languages which are considered official languages in various regions of Russia, along with Russian. There are over 100 minority languages spoken in Russia today.

Russia sent its troops into Ukraine in February 2022 following a seven-year standoff over Kiev’s failure to implement the terms of the Minsk agreements.